Tanzania’s Samia Suluhu and Somalia President Mohamud at the ongoing summit. PHOTO @RashdaZunde

Somalia Joins the East African Community

1 minute, 30 seconds Read

Somalia Joins the East African Community

The East African Community (EAC) Summit of Heads of State has formally admitted the Federal Republic of Somalia as its 8th Member.

Somalia joins Kenya, Burundi, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Rwanda, South Sudan, Uganda and Tanzania in the bloc.

“The Somali people are honoured to be part of the EAC! This is a beacon of hope for us. Hope for a future of opportunities and prosperity for Somalia, through regional integration!” said Somalia President Hassan Mohamud.

Mohamud said this following the Friday decision by the 23rd Ordinary Summit of the EAC Heads of State.

Somalia’s entry into the Community is a product of negotiations directed by the 22nd Extraordinary Summit. It presents an opportunity to the region to further integrate, expanding opportunities to the people.

The move will boost connectivity, enhance trade and accelerate Somalia’s transformation plan. The Somalia coastline — among the longest in Africa — presents massive blue economy resources such as fish to EAC.

Besides the admission of Somalia into the bloc, the Summit also deliberated on the progress of the EAC-led Nairobi Process on Restoration of Peace and Stability in Eastern DRC.

The meeting that followed the EAC High-Level Forum on Climate Change and Food Security also saw President Salva Kiir elevated to the Chairperson of the Summit of EAC Heads of State.

He takes over from his Burundi counterpart Évariste Ndayishimiye whose tenure has come to a close.

The Summit also asked Tanzania, Rwanda, South Sudan and the Democratic Republic of the Congo to expedite the conclusion of the EAC Political Confederation public consultation by mid next year.

Meanwhile, the Democratic Republic of the Congo has been named as the EAC’s rapporteur.

Let others know by sharing

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!