Museveni Reappoints Justice Byabakama as Chairperson Electoral Commission

1 minute, 44 seconds Read

Justice Simon Byabakama, and his deputy, Hajat Aisha Lubega have been reappointed for another seven-year term at the Electoral Commission. In November 2016, Justice Byabakama was appointed Chairperson of the Electoral Commission for a seven (7) year term.

It is confirmed that President Museveni wrote to the Speaker of Parliament on 5th January awarding Byabakama and Hajat Aisha Lubega another term in office. The duo succeeded Dr. Badru Kiggundu’s Commission.

The new faces in the Commission include Robert Kasule Sebunya, a former MP for Kyandondo North in the Ninth Parliament and later Nansana Municipality in the 10th Parliament. Robert Kasule Sebunya has been working as Head of the Delivery Unit at the Prime Minister’s Office.

The other new face is Dr. Sallie Simba Kayunga, a Political Science Lecturer at Makerere University. Museveni also appointed former Kioga county MP, Anthony Okello to join the commission.

Museveni also reappointed former Kajara MP, Stephen Tashobya to the Commission. He will serve his last term on the commission at the end of the seven-year term. Tashobya is a lawyer by Profession.

He was a member of the 8th and Ninth Parliament of Uganda. He rose to the limelight at Parliament especially when he served as the chair of the Legal and Parliamentary Affairs Committee.

Also on the Commission is Pamela Etonu Okudi, who has been Acting Head of Administration at the Commission. She previously worked at the National Forestry Authority.

The new Commission is expected to immediately continue the implementation of the Strategic Plan whose implementation began from FY 2022/23 – 2026/2027. It should take up the process of planning for and administration of the 2025/2026 General Elections.

The implementation of the strategic plan which includes the 2025/2026 General Elections Roadmap, was estimated to be Two Trillion, Five Hundred Forty-One Billion, Four Hundred Eight Million, Eight Hundred Seventy-One Thousand, Two Hundred Eight Nine Shilling The outgoing Commission had set the polling period for the 2026 General Elections between 12th January 2026 and 10th February 2026.

Story by URN

Let others know by sharing

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!